Skip to content

Give2Charity is reader-supported: if you enter a draw through our links we may earn a commission from the operator, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our ratings. We are not a charity or draw operator. How we make money.

Omaze vs Raffle House: Which Gives More to Charity?

Omaze and Raffle House are the two best-known UK property prize draw companies with an explicit charitable giving model. Omaze guarantees a minimum £1 million to its charity partner per house draw; Raffle House states that 10% of net proceeds goes to a charity the entrant chooses. Both are prize competitions, not lotteries, with a free postal entry route.

By admin · Last updated 26 August 2026

A modern British luxury home exterior at dusk with

What do Omaze and Raffle House have in common?

Before comparing the differences, the shared model is worth understanding:

Feature Omaze Raffle House
Type Prize competition Prize competition
Prize UK residential property UK residential property
Legal basis Free-entry route (not a lottery) Free-entry route (not a lottery)
Gambling Commission licence Not required for the property draw itself Not required for the property draw itself
Charitable giving Minimum £1m guaranteed per house draw 10% of net proceeds, per Raffle House’s own current FAQ
Free entry route Yes — postal Yes — postal
Winners published publicly Yes, on omaze.co.uk/pages/winners Yes, on rafflehouse.com/winners
Regulated advertising ASA/CAP Code ASA/CAP Code

Both companies are prize competitions where you can enter free by post, both give to charity, and both select at least one winner at random per draw. The meaningful differences are in how the charitable model works, prize values, and what each company covers for the winner.

Charity giving: the direct comparison

This is the question Give2Charity readers care most about, and it is more nuanced than a single percentage suggests.

Omaze: guarantees a minimum donation of £1 million to its charity partner for every house draw, regardless of ticket sales (Omaze FAQ, as of July 2026). Omaze has historically described its giving as 17% of ticket revenue, but because the guarantee is a fixed floor rather than a rising share, the effective percentage on a very large draw can fall well below 17% — a draw raising £20 million in ticket revenue but still paying out the same £1 million minimum represents only 5% of that revenue, not 17%.

Raffle House: states on its own Charity FAQ that 10% of net proceeds — after its costs — goes to the charity the entrant selects at checkout, from a list of more than 20 smaller charity partners (rafflehouse.com, as of July 2026). Unlike Omaze, Raffle House does not name a single charity per draw; the entrant chooses. Raffle House’s site does not state a minimum cash guarantee equivalent to Omaze’s £1 million floor. Because published terms for individual competitions can differ from general marketing pages, always check the specific competition’s own terms and conditions for the definitive mechanic before entering.

Metric Omaze Raffle House
Charity share basis 17% historically cited (nominal), of gross ticket revenue 10% of net proceeds, after costs
Minimum charity guarantee £1 million per house draw Not stated as a fixed minimum on Raffle House’s site
Charity choice One named partner per draw Entrant chooses from 20+ partners
Charity verifiable Yes, via the Charity Commission register Yes, each partner is individually checkable on the Charity Commission register

Because one figure is a share of gross ticket revenue and the other is a share of net proceeds after costs, “17%” and “10%” are not directly comparable pound-for-pound. Neither company publishes enough detail publicly to convert both into a true like-for-like cost-per-entry-to-charity figure.

Prize values: what you’re entering for

Omaze’s UK properties in recent years have mostly been valued between £2 million and £6 million. Raffle House has offered properties in a broadly similar range — for example, a linked draw offering a £2.5 million Dorset home alongside an existing £2 million Cheshire property, for a combined prize pot of around £4.5 million. Both operators periodically link more than one property into a single draw, so check the specific draw page for the current prize structure rather than assuming a single house is on offer.

Higher-value properties generally require more entry revenue to fund the prize and the guaranteed charity donation. Neither operator publishes entry volumes, so it is not possible to convert property value directly into an estimate of total revenue for either company from public information alone.

What does each operator cover if you win?

This is where the two models differ most for the winner, not just for the charity. Omaze’s own FAQ states that it pays the winner’s Stamp Duty Land Tax “irrespective of the winner’s circumstances,” covers reasonable conveyancer’s fees, and gives every Grand Prize winner a minimum of £250,000 in cash toward running costs. Raffle House’s published terms for individual competitions have historically included a smaller, capped settling-in payment toward council tax, utilities and legal fees, alongside partial cover of Stamp Duty Land Tax up to a stated cap — the exact figures vary by competition, so check the specific draw’s own terms rather than assuming the same cover applies across every Raffle House prize. For the full breakdown of the tax and cost position on an Omaze win, see our guide to what happens if you win an Omaze house.

Which is easier to enter for free?

Both offer free postal entry routes, and Raffle House’s own terms confirm postal entries carry the same status in the draw as a paid entry. The practical differences:

  • Omaze free entry: write your name, address, date of birth and email on a plain piece of paper and post it to the address given in that draw’s own terms. The address changes between draws.
  • Raffle House free entry: create a free account, then write your full name, phone number, email address and the competition you’re entering on a piece of paper, and post it with a first-class stamp to the address given in the current competition’s terms (rafflehouse.com). Raffle House limits postal entries to one per stamped envelope.

Both approaches cost only the price of a stamp. One free entry gives the same individual odds as one paid entry with each operator.

Odds: Omaze or Raffle House?

Neither operator publishes total entry counts during a live draw, so pre-draw odds cannot be calculated precisely for either. Both can, in principle, be estimated after the draw closes using the published charity donation and the stated share rate, though the gross-versus-net difference above makes any such estimate approximate rather than exact.

Which should you enter?

There is no single right answer, and the honest framework depends on what you value most:

  • If you want a named charity guaranteed a fixed sum: Omaze’s £1 million minimum per house draw is a known floor regardless of ticket sales.
  • If you want to pick which smaller charity benefits: Raffle House lets the entrant choose from more than 20 partner charities, rather than one charity per draw.
  • If the winner’s tax and cost position matters to you: Omaze’s confirmed cover of Stamp Duty Land Tax, conveyancer’s fees and a £250,000 settling-in payment is more generous, and more clearly documented in its own FAQ, than what is publicly confirmed for Raffle House.
  • If prize value is the deciding factor: check the live draw pages for both, since property values move with each new draw and have overlapped in recent years.

For the full picture across all property draw operators, see our how much goes to charity comparison. For a broader view of UK draws that combine prizes with giving, see our Omaze alternatives guide.

18+, UK residents. T&Cs apply — check the operator’s rules.

Frequently asked questions